South Mississippi State Hospital​

Respect    •    Compassion    •    Professionalism    •    Education    •    Teamwork    •    Trust    •    Communication

HOME   >   Debbie Dale named Employee of the Year at Friends of SMSH annual meeting

Debbie Dale named Employee of the Year at Friends of SMSH annual meeting

Debbie Dale, staff development director at South Mississippi State Hospital, was named 2014 Employee of the Year at the hospital's Friends of SMSH organization's annual meeting on April 30.
(Purvis, Miss.) During the recent annual meeting of Friends of South Mississippi State Hospital, Debbie Dale, staff development director at the Purvis behavioral health program, was named Employee of the Year.  Selected from employees of each quarter, the honor was voted on by employees based on adherence to the hospital’s values system. 
Friends of SMSH is a volunteer-based, nonprofit organization dedicated to promoting an understanding of mental health and the needs of individuals with mental illness, improving the quality of life for patients and providing recognition and support for hospital employees.  The Friends group does this by advocating for the hospital in the community, meeting needs of the patients and providing activities for both the patients and the staff.
The organization elected new officers and board members during the meeting.  Incoming president is Missy Gipson of Hancock Bank.  Bill Coll, a community volunteer, will serve as vice-president.  Donna Simmons and Andy Tucker, the hospital’s public relations director and fiscal services director, who are ex-officio officers, will serve as secretary and treasurer, respectively.  Wynona Wiley, retired former SMSH director, will fill the slot of past president.
Other board members include:  Doug Boutwell (community volunteer), Marvin Breazeale (community volunteer), Debbie Dale (incoming SMSH 2014 Employee of the Year), Ed Felsher (community volunteer), Michael Graham (Pearl River Valley Electric Power Association), Judge Prentiss Harrell (15th Circuit Court District), Pat Lee (Lamar Healthcare & Rehabilitation Center),  Harold Myatt (community volunteer), Terri Posey (SMSH 2013 Employee of the Year), Benny Prestridge (Mississippi Power Company), and Steve Reid (Pearl River County Hospital Intensive Outpatient Program).  Members elected to the Honorary Board of Directors are Senator Joey Fillingane, Greg Lowery (Owens Business Machines), Jeff Mayo (Oak Grove Heating & Air), Tim Prather (Purvis United Methodist Church), and Debbie Thorn (community volunteer).
Keynote speaker for the meeting was Tameka Tobias-Smith, Executive Director of NAMI Mississippi.
John Blanks, long-time volunteer and Friends board member was honored with a tree-planting ceremony after the membership voted to award him Emeritus status with Friends of South Mississippi State Hospital.
Hospital volunteers and Friends of SMSH corporate sponsors were also recognized. The meeting closed with a reception in the hospital’s multi-purpose room.
For information on mental health, South Mississippi State Hospital or membership in Friends of SMSH, please call 601-794-0219.

Article Date:   5/1/2015   |   Expiration Date:   12/1/2015

View all news >>

  • 823 Highway 589 
    Purvis, Mississippi
  • Phone:  601.794.0100
    Fax:        601.794.0210
The Joint Commission