South Mississippi State Hospital​

Respect    •    Compassion    •    Professionalism    •    Education    •    Teamwork    •    Trust    •    Communication

HOME   >   Friends of SMSH

Friends of SMSH

Friends of South Mississippi State Hospital is a volunteer-based, nonprofit organization dedicated to promoting understanding of mental health and the needs of individuals with mental illness, improving the quality of life for patients, and providing recognition and support for employees.



Membership is made up of individuals from the hospital staff, members of civic and service groups, and individuals from the community.


Anyone who is interested in serving as an advocate for individuals with mental illness can be a member. Annual membership fees are $10.00.

Click HERE to download an application to join Friends of South Mississippi State Hospital.

The application for Corporate Sponsorship can be found HERE​.

Friends of SMSH, Inc. is classified as a public charity and is exempt from Federal income tax under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. Contributions to Friends of SMSH are deductible under section 170 of the Code.


Friends of SMSH Board of Directors

​Name Organization​​​ Friends Po​sition​
​Benny Prestridge
Pat Lee
Community Volunteer
Lamar Healthcare & Rehab
Vice President
​Missy Gipson ​Hancock Bank ​Immediate Past President
​Doug Boutwell ​Community Volunteer
​Bill Coll ​Community Volunteer
​Ed Felsher Community Volunteer
​Michael Graham ​Pearl River Valley EPA
Harold Myatt​ ​Myatt Leasing
​Steve Reid ​Pearl River County Hospital IOP
​Wynona Winfield ​Community Volunteer
​April Holder ​SMSH ​2015 Employee of the Year
​May Watson ​SMSH ​2016 Employee of the Year
​Sabrina Young ​SMSH Director ​Ex-Officio
​Andy Tucker ​SMSH Fiscal Services Director ​Ex-Officio, Treasurer
​Donna Boutwell ​SMSH Public Relations Director ​Ex-Officio, Secretary
​Joey Fillingane ​Mississippi State Senate ​Honorary Board
​Greg Lowery ​Owens Business Machines ​Honorary Board
​Jeff Mayo ​Oak Grove Heating & Air ​Honorary Board
John Blanks​ ​Director Emeritus
​Mary E. Ray ​Director Emeritus
​Sharon Rainey ​Director Emeritus

Corporate Sponsors

​​​Platinum Sponsors ​Doug Boutwell
​Fred Hatten

​​Jeff and Kathy Mayo
​Harold Myatt
​Purvis Juniorettes
​Whitfield Heating & Air
​Wynona Winfield Wiley
Gold Sponsors​ ​Aflac -- Josh Cline Agency
Bill Coll
​The First
​Hancock Bank
​Lance Computer Systems d/b/a Netbase Technologies
​Pat Lee
​Owens Business Machines
​Pearl River County Hospital & Nursing Home
​Pearl River Valley Electric Power Association
​Purvis Woman's Club
​Southern Development of Mississippi
​Silver Sponsors Pearson Insurance Agency

In-Kind Sponsors

​Pearl Level All Brands Foods
​Pearson Pawn & Gift
​Water Flow Productions​​

Friends of SMSH Employee Giving

​Diamond Level ​Donna Boutwell

​Betty Entrekin
​April Holder
​Charleen Melancon
​Susan Parker
​Carla Whitfield
​Dr. Scott Willoughby
​Sabrina Young
​Sapphire Level ​Kevin Childs
​Lane Patrick
​Mary Rogers
​Vicki Scott
​Ruby Level ​Brad Bark
​Debbie Dale
​Wendy Hale
​Cindy Jackson
​Reed Makamson
​Terri Posey
Kelly Reid​
​Emerald Level Mary Adams
​Melissa Bailey
​​​ ​Norma Brewer
Merwin Brown
​Johnna Carter
​Kimberly Chavis
​Jessika Clark
​Angie Dillon
​Dawn Dobson
​Mona Henderson
​Karl Hess
​Cindy Hyden
​Melanie Ingram
​Arif Kamal
​Brandon Keys
​Noelle Knippers
​Seth LeBert
​Octavia McFarland
​Julie Spiers
​Frances Voss
Tommie Ware
​May Watson
​General Membership ​Josh Bales
​Michael Barnes
​David Bogan
​Tawana Bolton
​Corey Chandler
​Angela Chatman
​Julius Ducksworth
​Rob England
​Jimmy Evans
​Nicholas Golden
​D. J. Grant
​Demetria Griffin
​Gabriel Griffin
​Tawhid Haque
​Jessica Howell
​Chris Jolie
Cole Lilly​
Caleb Lott
​Marvin Overstreet
​Katie Quattlebaum
​Justin Ramirez
​Jason Richardson
​Carolyn Stuart
​Andy Tucker
​Claire von Gahlen
​​Trixie Westmoreland
​Christy Youngblood​




Membership Levels

Annual Corporate Sponsorships

 Platinum (3 representatives) $200+
Gold (2 representatives) $100+
Silver (1 representative) $50+

 Employee Donations (above $10)

General $1.00 per pay period
Emerald $2.50 per pay period
Ruby $4.60 per pay period
Sapphire $8.75 per pay period
Diamond $12.50+ per pay period

In-Kind Contributions Corporate/Citizen

 Jade $50
Onyx $100
Opal $200
Pearl $300 and above​


  • 823 Highway 589 
    Purvis, Mississippi
  • Phone:  601.794.0100
    Fax:        601.794.0210
The Joint Commission